HKUL > Scholarly Communication




Open access (OA) and institutional repositories (IR) are transforming scholarly communication and bringing new opportunities and challenges for Hong Kong researchers, librarians, publishers, and research funding bodies. Promoting 21st Century Scholarly Communication presents a conference with international “key players” and Hong Kong authorities to address the wide range of topics surrounding these dynamic movements.


The OA movement, the benefits, and how it can succeed
OA on scientific data
IRs & subject specific OA repositories
Publishers’ perspectives on OA
Government policies with OA
The need for IRs, how to populate & challenges faced
Authors’ attitudes towards OA
Worldwide OA changes
OA changes for Hong Kong?


John Bacon-Shone. Director of the Social Sciences Research Centre, The University of Hong Kong.
Diana Chan. Associate Librarian, City University of Hong Kong.
Leslie Chan. Program Supervisor for the Joint Program in new Media Studies and the International Studies program at the University of Toronto. Associate Director of Bioline International, an OA electronic publishing service for health and scientific journals from developing countries.
Anthony W. Ferguson. Librarian, The University of Hong Kong.
Melissa Hagemann. Program Manager of the Open Access Initiative, Open Society Institute eIFL.
Heather Joseph. Director of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC). Previously President and Chief Operating Officer for BioOne, a premier open access journal.
Robert Kiley. Head of e-Strategy, Wellcome Trust Library.
Colin Steele. Emeritus Fellow at the Australia National University. Previously University Librarian and Director of Scholarly Information Services.
Zhang Xiaolin. Executive Director of the Library of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.


17 ~ 18 May 2007


Wang Gungwu Theatre, Graduate House, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong



Contact us

For general enquiries, please contact us at

Fax: +852 2549 0405



Hong Kong
Library Association

Copyright & Disclaimer