Research Guides

Writing Theses and Dissertations

 

Recommended Readings

Books

Andrews, R. (Ed.). (2012). The Sage handbook of digital dissertations and theses. Los Angeles: SAGE.

Carter, S. (Ed.). (2014). Developing generic support for doctoral students : practice and pedagogy. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge.

Eco, U., Mongiat Farina(Trans), C., & Farina(Trans), G. (2015). How to write a thesis. Cambridge, MA: The MIT Press.

Engels-Schwarzpaul, A.-C., & Peters, M. A. (Eds.). (2013). Of other thoughts : non-traditional ways to the doctorate : a guidebook for candidates and supervisors. Rotterdam: Sense Publishers.

Fraenkel, J. R., Wallen, N. E., & Hyun, H. (2015). How to design and evaluate research in education (9th ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill Education.

Herr, K., & Anderson, G. L. (2015). The action research dissertation : a guide for students and faculty. Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE Publications, Inc.

James, E. A. (2014). Writing your doctoral dissertation or thesis faster : a proven map to success. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, Inc.

Locke, L. F., Spirduso, W. W., & Silverman, S. J. (2014). Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals (6th ed.). Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE.

Loudis, J. (Ed.). (2014). Should I go to grad school? : 41 answers to an impossible question (First U.S. ed.). New York: Bloomsbury.

Maggetti, M., Radaelli, C. M., & Gilardi, F. (2013). Designing research in the social sciences. London: SAGE.

McMillan, K., & Weyers, J. (2014). How to complete a successful research project. Harlow, England ; New York: Pearson.

Naoum, S. G. (2013). Dissertation research & writing for construction students (3rd ed.). Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge.

Novikov, A. M. (2013). Research methodology from philosophy of science to research design. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press.

Rudestam, K. E., & Newton, R. R. (2015). Surviving your dissertation : a comprehensive guide to content and process (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE.

Sahu, P. K. (2013). Research methodology a guide for researchers in agricultural science, social science and other related fields. New Delhi ; New York: Springer.

Taylor, D. B. (2014). Writing skills in nursing and healthcare : a guide to completing successful dissertations and theses. London: Sage Publications.

University of Hong Kong. Graduate School. (2013). Preparing and submitting your thesis : a guide for MPhil and PhD students (10th ed.). Hong Kong: Graduate School, The University of Hong Kong.

Walliman, N. S. R. (2014). Your undergraduate dissertation : the essential guide for success (2nd ed.). Los Angeles, California: SAGE.

White, B. (2011). Mapping your thesis : the comprehensive manual of theory and techniques for masters and doctoral research. Camberwell, Vic.: ACER Press.

張高評. (2013). 論文選題與研究創新. 臺北市: 里仁書局.

 

Open Access Resources

Electronic Resources: E-Theses Collection

ADIT Art & Design Index of Theses
from Sheffield Hallam University - Art and Design Research Centre

Chinese history dissertations review
from Department of History, Stanford University

The DART-Europe E-theses Portal
from Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche Association of European Research Libraries.

Database of African Theses and Dissertations (DATAD)
from Association of African Universities

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
from National Library of Germany

DiVA (Digitala Vetenskapliga Arkivet) - Scandinavian and Sweden theses
from DiVA - Academic Archive On-line

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
from American Musicological Society (AMS)

East Asian Languages and Literatures Theses and Dissertations
from University of Oregon

History Online - Theses
from Institute of Historical Research - University of London, School of Advanced Study

Indian ETD Repository @ INFLIBNET
from Digital repository of theses and dissertations from Shodhganga@INFLIBNET Centre

RIAN
from Ireland’s National Portal for Open Access Research

SMI Music Theses Register
from Society for Musiology in Ireland

Theses Canada portal Portail de thèses Canada
from National Library of Canada

Theses Resources > Find ETDs – ndltd
Maintained by Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

 

Find More Library Materials

Academic writing
Authorship -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Authorship -- Style manuals
Bibliographical citations
Citation of electronic information resources
Dissertations, Academic
Dissertations academic authorship
Dissertations, Academic -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Proposal writing in research
Research
Research -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Research methodology
Science methodology
Social Sciences methodology
Social Sciences research
Social Sciences -- Research -- Methodology

 

Web Resources

Dissertation Coaching
Maintained by Dr. Sally Jensen, Dissertation Doctor

The dissertation handbook : A guide to submitting your doctoral dissertation and completing your doctoral degree requirement
Maintained by Doe, J. R., & Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies the University of Michigan

Dissertations and Theses
Maintained by Dissertations and Theses.com

Dissertations and Theses: A Finding Guide
Maintained by Cornell University Library

Guide to the preparation of theses and Dissertations
Maintained by The Graduate School of the University of Tennessee; Knoxville

Palgrave study skills - Improve your study skills - Research methods
Maintained by Palgrave Macmillan Publishers Ltd.

PhD Programmes, Research Projects & Studentships in the UK & Europe
Maintained by FindA University Ltd.

Theses & dissertations
Maintained by Writing Development Centre - Newcastle University; Newcastle upon Tyne

Writing and Presenting Your Thesis or Dissertation
Maintained by Levine, S. J.

Writing Guides - Dissertations and Theses
Maintained by The University of Kansas Writing Center