HKUL > Research Guides > Recommended Readings > Reference Sources on the Internet   
  Reference Sources on the Internet

General Guides
Specialized Sites
Hong Kong Related Sites
E-Text/E-Journals
Web Tutorials
   
 

General Guides

About.com
Developed by About.com, Inc.

Britannica.com
Developed by Britannica.com, Inc.

BULB LINK: Libraries of Networked Knowledge
Developed by BUBL Information Service, Andersonian Library, Strathclyde University.

Digital Librarian: a Librarian's Choice of the Best of the Web
Maintained by Margaret Vail Anderson, a librarian in Cortland, New York.

dmoz: Open Directory Project
Developed by Netscape.

Encyberpedia: the Living Encyclopedia
Developed by Encyberpedia.com.

Galaxy
Developed by AHN/FIT Internet, LCC.

INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resources Collections
Developed by The Libraries of the University of California.

Internet Public Library
Developed by IPL Reference Centre.

lii.org: Librarian's Index to the Internet
Maintained by Carol Leita, Librarian's Index to the Internet.

Look Smart
Developed by LookSmart Ltd.

Refdesk.com
Developed by Refdesk.com.

Yahoo!
Developed by Yahoo! Inc.

雅虎中文 (Yahoo! Chinese)
Developed by Yahoo! Inc.

Specialized Sites

Acronyms Almanac Area Studies Awards and Prizes
Bibliographies Biographies Book & Movie Reviews Book Catalogues
Bookstores & Publishers Copyright, Patents & Standards Dictionaries & Thesauri Directories
Encyclopedias Geographic Information Government Internet Tools
Library & Information Sciences Manual and Style Guides Maps News & Media
Phone Books & E-Mail Directories Quotations Reference Tools Signs, Symbols & Codes
Statistics Travel Universities and Colleges  

Acronyms

Acronym Finder
By Mountain Data Systems, allows you to look up over 3 million acronyms/abbreviations and their meanings.

Acronyms and Abbreviations
By Yahoo! Inc., links to acronyms and abbreviations web sites.

The Internet Acronym Server
By Silmaril Consultants, allows you to search for acronyms.

Almanac

Infoplease.com
By FamilyEducation Network.

The Living Almanac of Disasters
By Disasterium.

Old Farmer's Almanac
By Yankee Publishing Inc., provides daily life information, including moon calendars, planting charts, recipes, and more.

Area Studies

African Resources on the Internet
By African Studies Center, Michigan State University, this site provides links to internet resources on African studies.

American Studies Web
Created by David Phillips and maintained by Crossroads, this site provides links to web sites relating to American studies.

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
Maintained by Dr. T. Matthew Ciolek, Research Schools of Social Sciences & Pacific and Asian Studies, The Australian National University. This web page provides links to over 10,000 Asia-Pacific area studies web sites.

AsiaSource
Developed by Asia Society, it provides valuable information regarding the cultural, economic, social, historical and political dimensions of the Asian-Pacific area.

Guide to Slavonic Internet Resources
From British Library's Online Information Server, provides links to Slavonic and Central/East European web sites.

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, HLAS Online is a bibliography on Latin America works selected and annotated by scholars.

REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies
Compiled and maintained by Karen Rondestvedt, Slavic Bibliographer of University of Pittsburgh Library System, provides links to Russian and East European studies web sites.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Latin American Studies
By Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), University of Texas at Austin, provides links to Latin American resources web sites by subject and country.

WWW Virtual Library: West European Subject Studies Home Page
This site is formally administered by Phil Wilkin, Bibliographer for West European Studies, University Library System, University of Pittsburgh and with major assistance in maintaining and updating the page by Chuck Lyon, Library Research Advisor, Center for West European Studies, University of Pittsburgh. It contains links to West European internet resources as well as European Union web sites.

Awards and Prizes

Academy Award
Presented by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of the United States.

AwardWeb: Collections of Literary Award Information and photographs
Maintained by Laurie D.T. Mann, provides links to science fiction awards as well as literary awards by country.

The GRAMMY Awards
Presented by the Recording Academy of the United States.

The Nobel Prizes
By the Nobel Foundation, allows you to search by prize category or name of laureate.

The Pulitzer Prizes
By Pulitzer Prizes, Columbia University, provides information on Pulitzer Prizes awards for American intellectual and artistic excellence in journalism, letters, drama and music.

Bibliographies

Internet Movie Database
Maintained by Internet Movie Database Ltd., this site contains information on over 200,000 movie and TV titles, over 400,000 actors and actresses and nearly 40,000 directors.

Library of Congress Bibliographies and Guides
Maintained by Library of Congress.

Newsletter Access: Directory
By Newsletter Access, provides links to over 9,500 newsletters web sites.

PubList.com: the Internet Directory of Publications
By Bowes & Associates, Inc., this site is the online edition of Ulrich's International Periodicals, contains over 150,000 publications information from all around the world.

Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
By Charles W. Bailey, Jr., Houston University Libraries, this bibliography presents selected articles, books, electronic documents, and other sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet and other networks.

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary
A service of s9.com, contains biographical information on over 28,000 people from ancient times to the present day.

Biography.com
By A&E Telvision Networks, contains biographical information on over 25,000 people around the world.

Distinguished Women of Past and Present
By Danuta Bois, this site includes name and subject indexes and other related distinguished women web pages.

Great Writers
By Piet Wesselman, provides links to writers web pages.

Book & Movie Reviews

Best Information on the Net
Maintained by the Reference Librarians of O'keefe Library of St. Ambrose University, this site offers links to reviews of books and book stores.

Booklist
By American Library Association, this electronic version of American Library Association's publication Booklist provides cumulative index to the print version of Booklist and also book reviews of a wider range of new books.

Business Books
By Business Week, provides list of best-selling business books as well as business book reviews.

Internet Movie Database
Maintained by Internet Movie Database Ltd., this site contains information on over 200,000 movie and TV titles.

Midwest Book Review
By James A. Cox, editor-in-chief of Midwest Book Review, this site provides book reviews under categories of: Internet Bookwatch, and Children's Bookwatch as well as links to resources for book lovers and more.

Book Catalogues

abebooks.com
By abebooks.com, this web site provides list of out-of-print, used and rare books for buying and selling.

Bibliofind
By exchange.com, this site contains a database of more than 16 million old, used, rare and out of print books offered for sale by thousands of booksellers around the world.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
By U.S. Government Printing Office, it indexes print and electronic government information products created by Federal agencies since 1994.

Publishers' Catalogues Home Page
By Northern Lights Internet Solution Ltd., allows you to browse publishers by country as well as directory by topics and type of material such as books, magazines and ebooks.

PubList.com, the Internet Directory of Publications
By Bowes & Associates, Inc., an online global resources that provides information on over 150,000 magazines, journals, newsletters, and other periodicals, links to electronic versions where available.

Bookstores & Publishers

AcqWeb's: Directory of Publishers & Vendors
By AcqWeb, provides links to international publishers and vendors web sites and email addresses.

BookFinder.com
By 13th Generation Media, provides links to over 15,000 online new and used book sellers all over the world.

Publishers' Catalogues Home Page
By Northern Lights Internet Solution Ltd., allows you to browse publishers by country as well as directory by topics and type of material such as books, magazines and ebooks.

博學堂
By Chinesebooks.com, an electronic bookstore.

Copyright, Patents & Standards

Copyright and Intellectual Property v.s. Public Domain
By Raul Marroquin at Open Space, this site contains links to copyright resources web pages.

European Patent Office
This official web site of European Patent Office allows you to search over 30 million patent documents.

Intellectual Property Digital Library
The Intellectual Property Digital Library Web site provides access to various intellectual property data collections currently hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.

PNGIS.net
Provides links to web pages of international and national organizations involved in standardization activities.

Patent Resources
By IP Organisers Pty Ltd. This site provides links to web pages for multiple country, subject specific and single country patent resources.

USPTO Web Patent Databases
This official web site of United States Patent and Trademark Office allows you to search its patent bibliographic database covering from 1976.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

English Language

American English Spelling Checker
By Greg Peterson, provides spelling checker for American English spelling.

Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
Comprises over 18,000 entries that reveal the etymologies, trace the origins and otherwise catalog "words with a tale to tell."

Library of Congress Thesauri
Developed by Library of Congress. Offers links to web versions of four print thesauri, namely, Thesaurus for Graphic Materials I: Subject Terms (TGM I), Thesaurus for Graphic Materials II: Genre and Physical Characteristics Terms (TGM II), Legislative Indexing Vocabulrary (LIV) and Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) Thesaurus.

List of Dictionaries
Contains language, technical & acronym dictionaries, and thesauri.

NASA Thesaurus
By NASA, this site provides PDF version of the print NASA Thesaurus.

One Look Dictionaries
Created by Robert K. Ware, Study Technologies, this site allows you to search over 7,608,756 words in 1001 general and specialized English dictionaries.

RhymeZone
By Datamuse Co. and Lycos, Inc., this site allows you to search for rhymes, synonyms and more.

Thesaurus.com
By Lexico LLC, an online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases.

WordNet: a Lexical Database for English
By Cognitive Science Laboratory, Princeton University, this online lexical reference system allows you to search for synonyms, antonyms, hyponyms, familiarity, and other relationships.

WWWebster Dictionary
By Merriam-Webster, Inc., online version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

WWWebster Thesaurus
By Merriam-Webster, Inc., online version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus.

Other Languages

Foreign Languages for Travellers
By travlang, provides essential words or phrases of foreign languages for travellers.

Language Dictionaries and Translators
Copyrighted by Bigben and Rivendell International Communicatirons. Arranged by language, this site offers links to various online translation dictionaries.

Travlang's Translating Dictionaries
By Travlang, allows to translate words from one of the European languages into other languages.

A Web of Dictionaries
By yourDictionary.com, this site provides links to various online language and subject dictionaries and thesaruri.

中文.com (Zhongwen.com: Chinese Characters and Culture)
By Rick Harbaugh, this is an etymological dictionary for learning Chinese characters on the Web.

線上中文工具 (On-line Chinese Tools)
By Erik E. Peterson, provides tools for learning and using Chinese.

<粵音韻彙>電子版
此網頁由香港中文大學人文學科研究所人文電算與人文方法研究室粵音電子字典組建立, 網頁主要取材自黃錫凌<粵音韻彙>一書.
The electonic edition of the book A Chinese Syllabary Pronounced according to the Dialect of Canton written by S.L. Wong.

Subject Dictionaries

American Sign Language Dictionary
By Martin L.A. Sternberg. This dictionary has both animated and text definitions of American Sign Language terms.

Encyberpedia: the Living Encyclopedia: Dictionaries, Glossaries & Thesauri
From Encyberpedia provides links to subject glossaries, dictionaries and encyclopedias as well as language dictionaries and thesauri web sites.

First Names and What they Mean
By C. Thomas Wright III. This site allows us to search over 5,500 names in the database online.

Glossary of Internet Terms
By Walt Howe, allows you to look up the definitions of Internet terms.

Netdictionary
A reference guide to technical, cultural, and humorous terms related to the Internet.

Reference Desk
Copyrighted by EurekAlert, this site provides links to glossaries or dictionaries from several scientific disciplines maintained by government, academic, research-oriented, and professional organizations.

Water Words Dictionary
Sponsored by the Nevada Division of Water Resources. This dictionary includes definitions for terms commonly used in surface and groundwater science, water law, and water-related publications.

Directories

Associations & Organizations
Maintained by Internet Public Library. Directories of associations and non-profit organizations.

Business Directories
Maintained by Wendy Ong, Library of Nanyang Technological Univeristy, Singapore. This web site provides links to business and trade directories web pages all over the world.

CompaniesOnline
By Lycos, Inc., it allows you to browse the database by subject or search the database for over 900,000 US private and public companies.

Idealist
A project of Action Without Borders, Inc., links to over 20,000 organizations in 140 countries.

Scholarly Societies Project
By Scholarly Societies Project and sponsored by the University of Waterloo Library, provides links to scholarly societies web pages and gophers all over the world.

Switchboard.com
Business and residential information by infoUSA.com, copyrighted by Switchboard Inc., this site allows you to search business and people.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
By Thomas Register, allows you to search over 156,900 US and Canadian Companies.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
By Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., includes Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica's Internet Guide and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Encyclopedia.com
Created by Infonautics Co. The encyclopedia contains over 14,000 articles from 3rd edition of The Concise Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and also internet links to millions of articles and pictures from the Electrical Library.

Encyclopedia of the Orient
Three major article contributors are Tore Kjeilen, Sidahmed Abubakr and D. Josiya Negahban. It covers all countries and cultures between Mauritania in the west and Iran in the east, Turkey in the north and Sudan in south.

FREE Internet Encyclopedia
Developed by Clifton Davis, provides links to encyclopedic information sources on the Internet.

Geographic Information

China Vista (中國指南)
A Mainland China search engine presented by Xindeco Business Information Company.

ChinaOnline
By ChinaOnline, this site provides comprehensive information on China including news, industry and company information, maps, area codes, Chinese phrases, statistics, government ministry profiles, and more.

ChinaSite.com: the Complete Reference to China/Chinese-Related Web Sites
By ChinaSite.com, this site provides links to various China/Chinese web resources.

Countries and Regions
Over 100 developing country information prepared by the World Bank Group.

Country Profiles
Online version of 2003 CIA World Factbook by Geographic Organization.

Country Studies
Online series of 101 country studies, prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.

Digital Librarian - Asian Resources
A section of Digital Librarian: a Librarian's Choice of the Best of the Web maintained by Margaret vail Anderson, a librarian in Cortland, New York. This site offers links to Asian resources web sites available around the world.

Global Gazetteer
A directory of 2,880,532 of the world's cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to a map for each town.

Islands in the Stream: Caribbean Sketches & Profiles
By EscapeArtist, provides links to Caribbean countries web sites by country as well as links to regional web sites such as Island of the Pacific, Mexico & Central America, and South America.

Japan Information Network
By Japan Information Network, this site provides information on Japan including statistics, general information, directory and more.

Search Engine Colossus: International Directory of Search Engines
By Bryan A. Strome. Organized by country, this site offers links to 125 country search engines.

Virtual Tours
By Virtual Sites. A collection of multimedia tours for the world, travel, museums, exhibits and the US Government.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
Edited and maintained by Wayne A. Selcher. This site consists of over 2,600 annotated links to international affairs resources.

Government

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
By CIA, allows you to search chiefs of state and cabinet members by country.

Directory of the World's Embassies
By EmbassyWorld, this site provides search engine for you to locate embassies and consulates all over the world.

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
Maintained by John Downey, International Documents Librarian, Documents Center, University of Michigan Library of the United States. Except the United States, arranged by continent, this web site provides links to foreign government resources all over the world.

Governments on the WWW
By Gunnar Anzinger, this site offers links to government internet resources such as parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions, and political parties from 220 countries.

Rulers
By Yahoo! GeoCities, this site lists heads of states and government of all countries and territories going back to about 1700 as well as international organizations and recent foreign ministers.

Internet Tools

List Servers, Newsgroups and Mailing Lists

CataList, the Official Catalog of LISTSERV Lists
By L-Soft International, Inc., allows you to access over 55,536 public LISTSERV lists as well as mailing lists.

TILE.NET
By Lift-Universe.com, this site allows you to search discussion lists, newsgroups, FTP sites, computer products vendors and Internet & web design companies.

Search Engines

Guides to Search Engines

AllSearchEngines.com
Concept by Harold A. Meyer III and site design by MotherMedia, this web site provides comprehensive listing of major, meta and topic search engines as well as web directories.

Search Engine Bookmarks
By HSLC NetSelect, this web site provides comprehensive listing of links to internet tools including general search engines, meta engines, multi-engine sites, usenet newsgroups, listservers, white pages, subject search engines and resources on search engines.

Search Engine Watch
Created and maintained by Danny Sullivan, Internet.com Corp., this web site provides links to search engines and search engine resources on the Internet.

Search Engines.net: a Search Engine for your Site ...
By Edwin Hayward, this site provides links to general, meta, specialized search engines as well as reference engines and more.

Meta Search Engines

Beaucoup!: Meta & Parallel Engines
Copyrighted by T. Madden, this site provides a list of meta and parallel search engines for you to search Internet resources.

Multimeta: the Meta Search Engine
By Multimeta - the Meta Search Engine and Lengua Website Translations. This web site allows you to use 10 search engines together to search web resources.

Regional Search Engines

ChinaSite.com: the Complete Reference to China/Chinese-Related Web Sites
By ChinaSite.com. Provides China/Chinese web resources.

Escape Artist: Regional Directories - Countries by Regions
By EscapeArtist Inc. Provides regional search engines all over the world.

Open Directory - Regional Search Engines
Developed by Netscape. Allows to access lists of search engines by country.

Search Engine Colossus: International Directory of Search Engines
Maintained by Bryan A. Strome. Organized by country, this metasite offers links to a large number of worldwide search engines.

雅虎中文(Yahoo! Chinese)
A Chinese search engine from Yahoo.

Software Download Sites

CNET Shareware.com
By CNET Networks, Inc.

DOWNLOAD.COM
By CNET Networks, Inc.

TUCOWS
By TUCOWS.Com Inc.

ZDNet Downloads
By ZD Inc.

Library & Information Sciences

Libraries, Library Associations and Related Organizations

Libraries and Related Resources
Provided by Library & Information Service, University of Exeter. Contains links to many resources available on the web that are maintained by libraries, museums and centres of research, as well as publishers.

Library Resource Guide
By R.R. Bowker. Provides links to library services and suppliers web sites.

Library Servers via WWW
Maintained by Thomas Dowling. Contains links to worldwide libraries and related organizations web sites.

Professional Associations in the Information Sciences
By CSU School of Library and Information Science. Links to worldwide library and information sciences professional organizations web sites.

RESOURCES OF SCHOLARLY SOCIETIES - Library and Information Science
Created by compilers at the University of Waterloo Library. Provides links to North American library and information sciences professional organizations web sites.

Vendor Home Pages
Maintained by Peter Scott. Provides links to library automation system vendors homepages.

國內網上圖書館
By Tsinghua University Library. Contains links to mainland China libraries web sites.

Library Catalogues

Floodgap Hytelnet-HTTP Museum Gateway
Original by Peter Scott, this is a variation that attempts to mimic the look and feel of HyTelnet in a web browser that provides links to telnet-based as well as web-based library catalogues, also links to publishers' catalogues.

LIBWEB - Library Servers via WWW
By Thomas Dowling. Currently lists over 7500 pages from libraries in over 135 countries.

OPACs, Library Web Pages and Z39.50
Provided by University of Wales Aberystwyth. Contains links to UK as well as worldwide library catalogues and libraries web sites.

LibDex - the Library Index
Provided by Bisca International Investments Ltd, provides links to 18,000 libraries.

Library and Information Sciences Resources

AcqWeb
By AcqWeb. Provides links to library and information sciences resources that of interests to librarians.

Internet Library for Librarians
Created by Vianne Tang Sha. Published by InfoWorks Technology Company. Contains reference resources such as biographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias as well as subjects that of interests to librarians such as bibliographic instruction, cataloguing, collection development, reader services, library automation systems, libraries on the Internet and more.

Libraries Online
By the Internet Public Library. Provides links to worldwide library resources.

MARC Standards
Provided by Library of Congress. By Network Development and MARC Standards Office of the Library of Congress.

Resources for Librarians
This index is maintained by Stella Herzig, Reference Librarian, for St. Ambrose University. Provides links to web sites that of interests to librarians such as book reviews, cataloguing and technical services, copyright information, library automation, libraries, online bookstores and more.

Serials in Cyberspace: Collections, Resources and Services
Developed and maintained by Birdie MacLennan. Provides Internet resources relating to serials collection and resources.

T-Pot -- Technical Processing Online Tools
It is an official Web page of the University of California, San Diego. Includes acquisitions, serials and cataloguing policies and procedures.

Z39.50 Resources
The original version of this resource guide is compiled by Mark Kelly. Maintained by National Information Standards Organization. Links to Z39.50 information resources web sites.

Manual and Style Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide
Provided by Instruction Office, Ohio State University Libraries.

Citation Guides for Electronic Documents
By International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. Comprehensive listing of various citation guides for Internet resources.

Citation Style Guides
By Engineering Library of Cornell University, provides links to citation guides for engineering fields.

Elements of Style
By William Strunk, includes principal elements of plain English style.

How to Prepare Annotated Bibliography
By Reference Services Division, Olin*Kroch*Uris Libraries, Cornell Unviersity Library.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
By Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.

MLA: Modern Language Association: MLA Style
By Modern Language Association, provides guidelines to MLA documentation style.

Turabian Citation Style Guide
By Ohio State University Libraries.

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
By Online Writing Lab of Purdue University.

Writer's Handbook: Citing References in your Paper
Maintained by The University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center, provides citation style guides for electronic resources such as APA, MLA and Chicago styles.

Maps

Free Stuff
Provided by Maps.com.

Mapquest: Maps
Provided by MapQuest.com, Inc.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
By the General Libraries, the University of Texas at Austin. View the Earth and Cities around the World from Satellites.

News & Media

Australian Newspapers on the Internet
By National Library of Australia. Provides links to Australian newspapers web sites.

British Media Online
By WebWorks. Provides links to more than 50 British news sources.

Excite News
By Excite.com. Search current news from over 300 newspapers and magazines.

Inside China Today
By European Internet Network Inc., provides daily mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau news.

News Online
By the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Links to world newspapers and news resources by continent.

Newspaper, Journalism, and Media Resources
Provided by the British Library. Links to UK newspapers web sites as well as international news resources.

Newspapers.com
By Newspapers.com. Provides links to US and international newspapers.

NewsTrawler
By NewsTrawler Pty Ltd. A parallel search engine, allows you to search hundreds of online archives of worldwide news, magazines and journals.

Online Newspapers
By the Internet Public Library. Links to online world newspapers by continent and then by country.

PR NewsWire
By PR Newswire. Links to current world news from corporations for media, business, financial community, and the individual investors.

WorldNews.com
By WorldNews.com. This site provides the latest top stories and headlines from the world's press and news sources. Also, this site offers links to news pages in certain topics such as health, business, technolgy and more, as well as news services such as newspapers, magazines, radio, television and web sites for countries around the world.

Phone Books & E-Mail Directories

Telephone Books - White Pages - Yellow Pages - Country Info
Maintained by FreeSearching.com.

Telephone Directories on the Web
By Infobel.com, Inc. A comprehensive listing of worldwide online white pages, yellow pages, business directories, email addresses and fax directories by country.

Quotations

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Provided by Bartleby.com.

Quotation Ring
By the Webring. Provides links to quotation web sites.

The Quotations Home Page
Maintained by Steve Spanoudis. Contains over 24,637 quotations in 30 collections.

The Quotations Page
By Michael Moncur.

A Short Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
Provided by naturalSCIENCE Journals.

Yahoo! Quotations
By Yahoo. Allows you to search quotations by subject, also provides a comprehensive listing of quotation resources.

Reference Tools

164 Currencies Converter
By OANDA.

Ask a Librarian
By EARL. Allows you to ask questions and it brings the resources of UK public reference libraries to you.

Astronomical Sky Calendar
By Brian Casey.

A Dictionary of Units of Measurement
By Russ Rowlett. It provides a summary of most of the units of measurement.

Flags of all Countries
By Photius Coutsoukis and Information Technology Associates.

Flags of the 19th and 20th Centuries
By Mark Sensen.

How Far is it?
provided by Bali Online. Want to know the distance between two places? Also, locations of these two places on the map? Here is the right web site to visit.

How Stuff Works
Written by Marshall Brain, a collection of articles describe how common "stuff" works, e.g. electricity, car engines, modems, and more.

International Calling Codes
By Graphic Solutions of Connecticut, LLC. Arranged by country and then by place, provides international telephone calling codes.

iTools
Provided by iTools. There are Search Tools, Language Tools, Research Tools, Financial Tools, Map Tools and Internet Tools for looking up quick information.

Measurements Converter
By Sergey Gershtein, Ural-Relcom, Ltd.

UM Weather
Designed and maintained by Michael MacDonald. Provides access to weather forecasts and images, and also links to web weather sites.

Western-Chinese Calendar Convertor
By Erik E. Peterson. Allows you to convert between solar and lunar calendars.

World Climate
Created by Robert Hoare. Contains over 85,000 records of world climate data with historical weather averages for each month or over a range of years.

The World Clock
By Steffen Thorsen. Provides current local time for cities around the world.

Signs, Symbols & Codes

International Marine Signal Flags
Designed and maintained by DVM Productions.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Provided by US Census Bureau.

Standard Industrial Classifications Search
By Occupational Safety & Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor.

SYMBOLS.com
By HME Media. Contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics.

Statistics

Australian Statistical Internet Sites
By National Library of Australia. Links to Australian statistical resources.

Country Comparison
Provided by Asia Society. This web sites allows you to compare statistics between up to five Asian-Pacific countries at once.

EuroStat
By Eurostat. Provides facts and figures on the 15 Member States of European Union.

FedStats
Maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy of the United States. Provides access to statistical data from over 100 US federal agencies.

International Economic Statistics (IES) Database
By Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The database provides links to individual
indicators (such as GDP and CPI) for each country, as well as a detailed description of the data.

INFONATION
By the United Nations, provides up-to-date statistical data for Member States of the United Nations.

International Data Base (IDB)
By the Bureau of Census of the United States, provides statistical tables of demographic and social-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

International Social Indicators
Compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat.

LANIC - Statistics
Provided by University of Texas at Austin. Links to Latin American statistics web sites.

The Progress of Nations 1998
By the United Nations, records what is happening to the health, nutrition, and education of children today.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
By US Census Bureau. Provides US statistical data, also includes some international statistics.

Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
By Bureau of Labor Statistics, United Sates Department of Labor, links to statistical web sites of US and international organizations.

Statistics Canada
By Statistics Canada.

Travel

Accommodation Search Engine
By ase.net. Allows to search over 84,500 hotels, inns, bed and breakfasts, and resorts around the world.

Foreign Languages for Travellers
Created and maintained by Michael C. Martin, founder of travlang. Provides essential words or phrases of foreign languages for travellers.

Travelocity
By Travelocity.com LP. Provides travel reservations and guides.

TravelWeb
By Pegasus Systems, Inc. Provides air flight & hotel reservations and travel guides.

Universities and Colleges

College/University Admission Tests, Pre-Professional Skills Tests

ACT
By ACT, Inc. American College Testing

ELSA
By LCCI CET. English Language Skills Assessment

GMAT
By Graduate Management Admission Council. Graduate Management Admission Test

GRE
By Educational Testing Service. Graduate Record Examinations

IELTS
Provided by University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate, the British Council and IDP Education Australia. International English Language Testing System

LSAT
By Law School Admission Council, Inc. Law School Admission Test

The PRAXIS Series: Professional Assessments for Beginning Teachers
By Educational Testing Service.

PSAT/NMSQT
By the College Entrance Examination Board. Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test

SAT
By the College Board. Scholastic Assessment Test

TOEFL
By Educational Testing Service. Test of English as a Foreign Language

Conferences

Conferences Databases
By Distance Education Clearinghouse. Lists worldwide conferences, workshops, seminars and events of interest to distance education and related fields. Arranged by conference name, and date of event.

Directories

2003 Colleges, College Scholarships, and Financial Aid Page
Designed and maintained by Beech Productions. Provides information on US colleges and universities, scholarship and financial aid searches, and directory of US college and university Admissions Office email addresses.

Distance Education and Training Council: Directory of Accredited Institutions
By Distance Education and Training Council. Guides to distance learning education in the United States.

Petersons.com: the Education and Career Center
By Peterson's. Guides to studying in the United States such as K-12 schools, undergraduate & graduate study, distance learning and special schools.

Universities, Colleges, Courses
From the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service for the UK, this site allows you to search UK colleges and universities as well as undergraduate courses information. By Universities and Colleges Admissions Service.

University of Wolverhampton UK Sensitive Maps: Universities & HE Colleges
By University of Wolverhampton. Provided with the UK map, this web site allows you to go directly to particular UK educational information resources.

Universities Worldwide
By Klaus Forster. Links to 8817 Universities in 203 countries.

Yahoo - Colleges and Universities
Provided by Yahoo! Inc. Allows you to search colleges and universities by country.

Financial Aid, Grants, Loans & Scholarships

FastWeb.com
By FastWeb, Inc. Search over 400,000 scholarships, grants, fellowships, and loans.

FinAid: the Financial Aid Information Page
By FinAid.org. A comprehensive US student financial aid resources guide.

Financial Aid
By Hobsons Digital Media Inc. Links to US student financial aid resources.

Grants and Related Resources
Edited by Jon Harrison of Michigan State University Libraries. Provides links to web resources relating to grants, funders, financial aid and fundraising.

Scholarship Search
By the College Entrance Examination Board. Find scholarships, loans, internships and other financial aid programs available in the United States.

Yahoo! Financial Aids
By Yahoo! Inc. Links to student financial aid resources and organizations providing student financial aid.

Rankings

Academic Ranking of World Universities
From Shanghai Jiao Tong University Institute of Higher Education, provides world, American, European, Asian / Pacific universities rankings.

America's Best Colleges
From U.S. News, provides US college rankings information.

Asia's Best Universities 2000
From Asiaweek, provides Asian top 77 universities ranking information.

College and University Rankings
From Education and Social Science Library of University of Illinois at Urban-Champaign, provides US as well international college and university rankings information.

Graduate School Rankings
From U.S. News, provides US graduate school rankings by subject.

Gourman Report Ranking of Canadian Universities
Complied from Jack Gourman's 10th, 1998 edition of The Gourman Report, Undergraduate Programs.

Ranking of Australian Universities
Compiled from the quantitative survey conducted by the Melbourne Institute into the international standing of Australian Universities.

Times Higher Education Table of Excellence
By Times Higher Education Supplement on the result of Research Assessment Exercise, rank UK institutions according to their subject successes and their overall quality.

Top 500 World Universities
by Institute of Higher Education, Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

World University Rankings
by The Times Higher Education Supplement.

University in China
By Chinese University Alumni Association, provides Mainland China university rankings.

中國大學排行榜 (China's Universities Ranking)
By people.com, provides Mainland China university rankings.

世界大學排名榜 (Top 500 University)

Hong Kong Related Sites

Biographies Bookstores & Publishers Business, Finance & Industry Culture & Entertainment
Education Environment & Health General Guides General Information
Government Housing Law Libraries
News & Broadcasting Organizations Phone Books Political Parties & Organizations
Statistics Tourism Transport  

Biographies

The Chief Executive (行政長官)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Civil and Miscellaneous lists (各公務委員會及其他名表)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

District Council Members (區議會議員)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Executive Councillors (行政會議成員)
Provided by Executive Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Legislative Councillors (立法會議員)
Provided by Legislative Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Name List of Principal Officials, Permanent Secretaries and Heads of Government Departments (主要官員、常任秘書長及部門首長名單)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Principal Officials of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Recipients of HKSAR Honours and Awards (主要官員、常任秘書長及部門首長名單)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

香港殖民地歷代港督
By 香港互聯網站.

Bookstores & Publishers

Bloomsbury Books Ltd.
Provided by Bloomsbury Books Ltd.

Chinese University Press (中文大學出版社)
Provided by Chinese University of Hong Kong.

City University of Hong Kong Press (香港城市大學出版社)
Provided by City University of Hong Kong Press.

Hong Kong Bookstores
By O'Reilly & Associates, Inc. Arranged by district, provides addresses, telephone & fax numbers of popular bookstores in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of People's Republic of China. Information Services Department (政府新聞處)
Provided by Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Trade Development Council (香港貿易發展局)
Provided by Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

Hong Kong University Press (香港大學出版社)
Provided by Hong Kong University Press.

Open University of Hong Kong Press (香港公開大學出版社)
Provided by the Open University of Hong Kong.

Page One (葉壹堂)
Provided by Page One Group.

三聯書店
By Joint Publishing (H.K) Company Ltd.

明報出版社/明窗出版社
By Ming Pao Publications Limited.

商務印書館
By the Commercial Press (H.K.) Ltd.

萬里機構
By Joint Publishing (H.K) Company Ltd.

博學堂
By Chinese Books Cyberstore.

聚賢館
By Juxian Guan Ltd.

Business, Finance & Industry

Companies Registry (公司註冊處)
By Companies Registry, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Commerce and Economic Development Bureau (商務及經濟發展局)
By Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Customs and Excise Department (香港海關)
By Customs and Excise Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (財經事務及庫務局)
By Financial Services and the Treaury Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Finet.HK
By Finet Holdings Limited. Provides major stock indexes, Hong Kong stock prices, and links to Hong Kong and international financial news web sites.

Hong Kong Public Libraries Business Information
By Hong Kong Public Libraries.

Hong Kong Business Directory
By Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce.

Hong Kong Listed Company Directory
By Pacific Professional Network.

Hong Kong Monetary Authority (香港金融管理局)
By Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Standards and Testing Centre Ltd. (香港標準及檢定中心)
By Hong Kong Standards and Testing Centre Ltd.

Hong Kong Trade Development Council (香港貿易發展局)
By Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

Innovation and Technology Commission (創新科技署)
By Innovation and Technology Commission, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Office of the Telecommunications Authority (電訊管理局)
By Office of the Telecommunications Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Quamnet
By Quamnet. Allows you to search Hong Kong stock quotes and charts as well as company datacards, financial data, estimates and profiles, and provides stock market news and analysis.

Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會)
By Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

Support and Consultation Centre for SMEs (中小企業支援與諮詢中心)
By Support and Consultation Centre for Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) of Trade and Industry Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People'e Republic of China.

tdctrade.com
By Hong Kong Trade Development Council. Provides stock quotes and exchnage rates searches as well as links to financial news, Hong Kong and China trade, small & medium enterprises, exhibitions & conferences in Hong Kong, and more web sites.

Culture & Entertainment

Country and Marine Parks Authority (郊野公園及海岸公園管理局)
By Country and Marine Parks Authority of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Country Parks
By Country and Marine Parks Authority of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Arts Development Council (香港藝術發展局)
By Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Sports Institute (香港體育學院)
By Hong Kong Sports Institute, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Leisure & Cultural Services Department (康樂及文化事務署)
By Leisure & Cultural Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Music Office (音樂事務處)
By Music Office, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority (影視及娛樂事務管理處)
By Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Education

Curriculum Development Council (課程發展議會)
By Curriculum Development Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Education Bureau (教育局)
By Education Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Education Commission (教育統籌委員會)
By Education Commission, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Employees Retraining Board (僱員再培訓局)
By Empolyees Retraining Board, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Council for Academic Accreditation (香港學術評審局)
By Hong Kong Council for Academic Accreditation, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Education City (香港教育城)
By Hong Kong Education City Limited.

Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (香港考試及評核局)
By Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong School Net (香港學校網絡)
By Department of Information Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Provides links to educational resources for students, teachers and schools.

IT in Education (資訊科技教育)
By Education Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Joint University Programmes Admissions System (大學聯合招生)
By Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS), Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

School Information Search & School Lists (學校資料搜尋及學校名單)
By Education Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

University Grants Committee (大學教育資助委員會)
By University Grants Committee (UGC), Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Youth Pre-employment Training Programme (展翅計劃-青年職前綜合培訓)
By Labour Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

母語教學教師支援中心(Chinese as the Medium of Instruction Centre)
由香港大學課程學系提供母語教學教材設計及教育網站聯網。

Environment & Health

Air Pollution Index (API)
By Environmental Protection Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Department of Health (衛生署)
By Department of Health, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Environmental Protection Department (環境保護署)
By Environmental Protection Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (食物環境衛生署)
By Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Medical Web for Health Care Professionals
Developed and maintained by Medcom Limited. Provides links to medical societies and hospitals web sites and health resources.

Occupational Safety & Health (職業安全與健康)
By Labour Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

General Guides

Hong Kong World Wide Web Database
By Information Technology Services Centre, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

World-Wide Web Virtual Library - Hong Kong
Managed by InTechTra, Inc.

常用網址(Useful Link)
Provided by yukz.com

添達香港搜索器 (Timway Hong Kong Search Engine)
By Timway Hong Kong Search Engine Ltd.

General Information

1997 Handover
By South China Morning Post.

A Brief Guide to Taxes
By Inland Revenue Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Consular Posts and Officially Recognised Representatives
By Protocol Division Government Secretariat, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Directory on Hong Kong Science and Technology Resources (香港科技資源指南)
By Innovation and Technology Commission, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hang Seng Family of Indexes
By Hang Seng Bank Limited.

Home Affairs Bureau (民政事務局)
By Home Affairs Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Fact Sheets (香港便覽)
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Observatory
By Hong Kong Observatory, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides weather, tidal and cyclones information, weather forecast, UV index and more.

Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes (強制性公積金計劃)
By Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authroity.

Online Services (網上服務)
Online services provided by Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government.

Postage Rates
By Hong Kong Post, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People'e Republic of China.

Security Bureau (保安局)
By Security Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Government

2000 Legislative Council Elections
Information provided by Registration and Electoral Office (REO), Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC), Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and Home Affairs Bureau (HAB) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China and Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK).

The 2011-12 Budget
By Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides 2011-2012 budget speeches presented by the Financial Secretary of the HKSAR.

Government and Related Organizations (政府及有關機構)
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides links to Executive Council, Judiciary, Legislative Council, District Boards, Government Secretariat, government departments & agencies, and related organizations web sites.

Hong Kong: General Information (政府資訊)
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Contains information on government policy, reports, speeches, law and more.

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China (中華人民共和國香港特別行政區)
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Guides to general information about Hong Kong, and links to government departments & related organizations web sites.

The Last Governor Online
Created by the University of Hong Kong Libraries, the database comprises summaries, subject headings, and scripts of interviews and events recorded on 795 videocassettes, 508 sound cassettes and 11 computer diskettes of the political life of Christopher Patten, the last Governor of Hong Kong.

Major Speeches by Senior Government Officers [of the HKSAR]
By Information Services Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

News Update & Speeches (每日要聞及演辭)
By Government Information Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Phone Book
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People's Republc of China, provides governmental telephone directory of the HKSAR.

Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau
By Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Speeches by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR
By Office of the Chief Executive, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Housing

Hong Kong Housing Authority (香港房屋委員會)
By Hong Kong Housing Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Housing Home Page
Jointly by the Department of Public and Social Administration of the City University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Housing Authority, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides information related to Hong Kong housing policy such as consultative documents as well as housing statistics.

Hong Kong Housing Society (香港房屋協會)
By Hong Kong Housing Society, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong Planning Standards and Guidelines
By Planning Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Law

Basic Law (基本法)
From Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Bilingual Laws Information System: the Database of the Laws of Hong Kong (雙語法例資料系統:香港法例資料庫)
From Department of Justice, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Gazette (香港特別行政區政府憲報)
From Government Logistics Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Labour Legislation
By Labour Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Legal Aid Department (法律援助署)
By Legal Aid Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Legislative Council (立法會)
From Legislative Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of Hong Kong.

Libraries

Hong Kong Libraries Gateway
By Hong Kong Library Association and University of Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Library Association (香港圖書館協會)
By Hong Kong Library Association.

News & Broadcasting

Broadcasting

Communications and Technology Branch (通訊及科技科)
By Communications and Technology Branch of Commerce, Industry and Technology Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

香港有線電視 (Cable TV Hong Kong)
By Hong Kong Cable Television Limited.

香港電台 (RTHK)
By Radio Television Hong Kong.

亞洲電視 (ATV)
By Asia Television Limited.

商業電台 (CRHK)
By Commercial Radio Hong Kong.

無線電視 (TVB)
By Television Broadcasts Limited.

新城電台 (Metro Radio)
By Metro Broadcast.

鳳凰衛視 (Phoenix Satellite Television)
由鳳凰衛視提供。

衛星電視 (Star TV)
By Star TV.

News

Commercial Radio (商業電台) - 新聞財經
Provided by Commercial Radio.

News Update & Speech (每日要聞及演辭)
Produced and maintained by Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

RTHK - News (香港電台 - 新聞)
By Radio Television Hong Kong.

電視新聞
By TVB.com, Ltd.

Newspapers

AM730
By AM 730 Media Limited.

South China Morning Post
By South China Morning Post Publishers Ltd.

The Standard
By the Standard Newspapers Ltd.

大公報 (Ta Kung Pao)
由大公報提供。

太陽報 (The Sun)
由太陽報提供。

公教報 (Kung Kao Po)
由公教報提供。

成報 (Sing Pao)
Sing Pao Newspaper Col Ltd.

東方日報 (Oriental Daily News)
由東方日報提供。

明報 (Ming Pao)
由明報網站提供。

星島電子日報 (Sing Tao Electronic Daily)
由星島網站提供。

香港商報 (Hong Kong Commercial Daily)
由香港商報提供。

香港經濟日報(Hong Kong economic times)
由香港經濟日報提供。

都市日報 (Metropolis Daily)
Provided by Metro Publishing Limited.

新報
由新報提供。

頭條日報 (Headline Daily)
Provided by Headline Daily Limited.

蘋果日報 (Apple Daily News)
由蘋果日報提供。

Organizations

Agency for Volunteer Service (義務工作發展局)
By Agency for Volunteer Service.

Caritas Family Service (香港明愛家庭服務)
By Caritas Family Service.

Changing Young Lives Foundation (成長希望基金會)
By Changing Young Lives Foundation.

Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong (香港中華基督教青年會)
By Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong.

Civil Aid Service (香港民眾服務安全隊)
By Civil Aid Service, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Community Chest of Hong Kong (香港公益金)
By Community Chest of Hong Kong.

Consumer Council (消費者委員會)
By Consumer Council.

Family Planning Association of Hong Kong (香港家庭計劃指導會)
By Family Planning Association of Hong Kong.

Helping Hand Organization (伸手助人協會)
By Helping Hand Organization.

Hong Kong Association of the Deaf (香港聾人協進會)
By Hong Kong Association of the Deaf.

Hong Kong Blind Union (香港失明人協進會)
By Hong Kong Blind Union.

Hong Kong Buddhist Association (香港佛教聯合會)
By Hong Kong Buddhist Association.

Hong Kong Church (香港教會)
By Hong Kong Church Renewal Movement.

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (聯合國兒童基金會)
By Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF.

Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions (香港職工會聯盟)
By Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions.

Hong Kong Council of Social Service (香港社會服務聯會)
By Hong Kong Council of Social Service.

Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups (香港青年協會)
By Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups.

Hong Kong Housing Authority and Housing Department (香港房屋委員會及房屋署)
By Hong Kong Housing Authority and Housing Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Hong Kong New Generation Cultural Association (香港新一代文化協會)
By Hong Kong New Generation Cultural Association.

Hong Kong Red Cross (香港紅十字會)
By Hong Kong Red Cross.

Hong Kong Society for the Blind (香港盲人輔導會)
By Hong Kong Society for the Blind.

Hong Kong Society for the Deaf (香港聾人福利促進會)
By Hong Kong Society for the Deaf.

Hong Kong Young Women's Christian Association (香港基督教女青年會)
By Hong Kong Young Women's Christian Association.

Junior Police Call (少年警訊)
By Junior Police Call, Hong Kong Police Force, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Lions Clubs International District 303 - Hong Kong & Macau (國際獅子總會港澳三O三區)
By Lions Clubs International District 303 - Hong Kong & Macau.

Mother's Choice (母親的抉擇)
By Mother's Choice.

Oxfam Hong Kong (樂施會)
By Oxfam Hong Kong.

Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command (救世軍港澳軍區)
By Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command.

Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong (香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會)
By Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong.

Scout Association of Hong Kong (香港童軍總會)
By Scout Association of Hong Kong.

Society for Abandoned Animals (保護遺棄動物協會)
By Society for Abandoned Animals.

Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to the Animals (Hong Kong) (愛護動物會)
By Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to the Animals (Hong Kong).

Society of Boys' Centres (香港扶幼會)
By Society of Boys' Centres.

The Spastics Association of Hong Kong (香港耀能協會)
By Spastics Association of Hong Kong.

World Vision Hong Kong (香港世界宣明會)
By World Vision Hong Kong.

YMCA of Hong Kong (香港基督教青年會)
By YMCA of Hong Kong.

Phone Books

1081 Directory Inquiries
From PCCW.

Hong Kong Yellow Pages
Provided by PCCW.

Telephone Directory of the Government of the HKSAR and Related Organizations
By Information Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People's Republic of Hong Kong. Provides governmental telephone directory of the HKSAR.

Political Parties & Organizations

一國兩制研究中心 (One Country Two Systems Research Institute)
由一國兩制研究中心提供。

四五行動 (April Fifth Action)
由四五行動提供。

民主民生協進會 (Hong Kong Association for Democracy & People's Livelihood)
由民主民生協進會提供。

民主建港聯盟 (Democratic Alliance for Betterment of Hong Kong)
由民主建港聯盟提供。

民主黨 (Democratic Party)
由民主黨提供。

自由黨 (Liberal Party)
由自由黨提供。

香港人權監察 (Hong Kong Human Rights Monitor)
由香港人權監察提供。

香港市民支援愛國民主運動聯合會 (Hong Kong Alliance In Support Of Patriotic Democratic Movements Of China)
由香港市民支援愛國民主運動聯合會提供。

香港民主促進會 (Hong Kong Democratic Foundation)
由香港民主促進會提供。

香港政策研究所 (Hong Kong Policy Research Institute Limited)
由香港政策研究所提供。

香港職工會聯盟 (Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Union)
由香港職工會聯盟提供。

選舉事務處 (Registration and Electoral Office)
By Information Services Centre, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People'e Republic of China.

Statistics

Hong Kong Statistics
By Census and Statistics Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Tourism

Declared Monuments in Hong Kong (香港法定古蹟)
By Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of Hong Kong.

Country Parks
By Country and Marine Parks Authority of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Discover Hong Kong
By Hong Kong Tourist Board, provides tour guides such as shopping, hotels, food and entertainment, festivals and events, sightseeing, and tour package.

Hong Kong International Airport
By Airport Authority Hong Kong.

Directory of licensed travel agents (旅行代理商名稱或牌照號碼搜尋)
By Travel Agents Registry of the Economic Services Bureau, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China.

Transport

Public Services
By Transport Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides information about public transport services and fare structure.

Transport in Hong Kong
By Transport Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Provides information about major roads, tunnels and bridges as well as transport figures.

E-Text/E-Journals

Documents and Reports
From World Bank, contains citations to and fulltext of over 6,000 World Bank reports. These reports include Project appraisal reports, Economic and Sector Works, Evaluation reports and Studies, and working papers.

e-journals.org
This site is part of the World-Wide Web Virtual Library. Links to information about, or access to, electronic journals listed by subject.

Hong Kong Public Libraries e-Book Collection at NetLibrary
By Hong Kong Public Library. Provides links to online e-books web sites.

National Academy Press: Publications
From National Academic Press, allows you to view fulltext of over 1,500 reports from the National Academies and journals from the National Research Council, National Academy of Engineering and Institute for Scientific Information online at no charge.

Project Gutenberg
By Project Gutenberg and PROMO.NET. Project Gutenberg produces electronic versions of texts, mainly classic books, in the public domain. It is scheduled to offer 10,000 e-books free on the web by the end of 2001.

UNESCO: Documents and Publications
By UNESCO. The UNESCO catalogue lists around 100,000 UNESCO documents and provides access to the fulltext of many of these documents.

Web Tutorials

Finding Information on the Internet: a Tutorial
Prepared by the Teaching Library at University of California, Berkeley, provides comprehensive information on searching the Internet.

World Lecture Hall
By the University of Texas, contains links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver class materials.