HKUL > Research Guides > Recommended Readings > Writing Essays, Reports and Research Papers   
  Writing Essays, Reports and Research Papers

Recommended Readings
  Books
Find More Library Materials
Web Resources
   
 

Recommended Readings

Books

Clouse, Barbara Fine. Transitions : from reading to writing. 3rd ed. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2002.
E 808.0427 C647 t

Cooper, Sheila and Patton, Rosemary. Writing logically, thinking critically. 4th ed. New York : Pearson/Longman, c2004.
808.042 C777

Craswell, Gail. Writing for academic success : a postgraduate guide. London : SAGE, 2005.
808.066378 C89

Fulwiler, Toby and Hayakawa, Alan R. The college writer's reference. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.042 F97 c

Garson, G. David. Guide to writing empirical papers, theses, and dissertations. New York : Marcel Dekker, c2002.
808.066378 G24
D 808.066378 G24

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 6th ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
808.02 G43
E 808.02 G43
M 808.02 G43

Goodman, Debbie J. Report it in writing. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2004.
LB 363.2 G6

Hult, Christine A. Researching and writing across the curriculum. 2nd ed. New York : Longman, c2002.
808.02 H91

James, Missy and Merickel, Alan. Reading literature and writing argument. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.0427 J28 r

Kennedy, X. J. et al. The Bedford guide for college writers : with reader, research manual, and handbook. 6th ed. Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2002.
808.042 K36

Klausmeier, Herbert J. Research writing in education and psychology--from planning to publication : a practical handbook. Springfield, Ill. : Charles C. Thomas, c2001.
808.06615 K63 r

Kreml, Nancy M et al. The User's guide to college writing : reading, analyzing, and writing. 2nd ed. New York : Pearson/Longman, c2004.
808.042 U84 K22

Lester, James D. and Lester, James D. Writing research papers : a complete guide. 11th ed. New York : Pearson/Longman, c2005.
808.02 L64

Lunsford, Ronald F. and Bridges, Charles W. The Longwood guide to writing. 2nd ed. brief ed. New York : Longman, c2002.
808.042 L96

Markman, Roberta H. et al. 10 steps in writing the research paper. 6th ed. Hauppauge, N.Y. : Barron's, c2001.
001.4 M34

Memering, Dean and Palmer, William. Discovering arguments : an introduction to critical thinking and writing with readings. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.0427 M533 d

Netzley, Michael and Snow, Craig. Guide to report writing. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.06665 N476 g

Northey, Margot et al. Making sense : social sciences : a student's guide to research and writing. 2nd ed. Don Mills, Ont. : Oxford University Press Canada, 2002.
808.0663 N87

Rasmussen, Kirk G. The Prentice Hall writer's guide to research and documentation. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2004.
808.02 R22

Reinking, James A. et al. Strategies for successful writing : a rhetoric, research guide, reader, and handbook. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.0427 R37

Seyler, Dorothy U. Read, reason, write. 6th ed. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2002.
808.0427 S51

Surma, Anne. Public and professional writing : ethics, imagination and rhetoric. Basingstoke ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
808.06665 S96

Valiela, Ivan. Doing science : design, analysis, and communication of scientific research. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001.
D 507.2 V172 d

Walliman, Nicholas and Baiche, Bousmaha. Your research project : a step-by-step guide for the first-time researcher. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2001.
808.02 W211 y

Weidenborner, Stephen and Caruso, Domenick. Writing research papers : a guide to the process. 6th ed. Boston, Mass. : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2001.
ER 808.02 W41

Winkler, Anthony C. and McCuen, Jo Ray. Writing the research paper : a handbook. 6th ed. Boston, MA : Thomson/Heinle, c2003.
808.02 W77

Wolcott, Harry F. Writing up qualitative research. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2001.
808.0666 W84

The User's guide to college writing : reading, analyzing, and writing. 2nd ed. New York : Pearson/Longman, c2004.
808.042 U84 K22

Analysing academic writing : contextualized frameworks. London ; New York : Continuum, 2004.
808.066378 A53
D 808.066378 A53

報告撰寫手冊 : 調查實戰指南 = Handbook of writing research-report. 北京 : 中國時代經濟出版社, 2004.
[中] LB1047.3 .L527 2004

Find More Library Materials

Academic writing

English language -- Rhetoric

Report writing

Report writing -- Problems, exercises, etc.

Report writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Research

Research -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Research -- Methodology

Science -- Methodology

Social Sciences -- Methodology

Social Sciences -- Research

Social Sciences -- Research -- Methodology


Web Resources

ABC of Academic Writing & ABC of Essays
Maintained by Andrew Roberts.

Advice on Academic Writing
Site Administered by Dr. Margaret Procter, Coordinator, Writing Support, University of Toronto.

Essays and Arguments: a Handbook on Writing Argumentative and Interpretative Essays
Edited by Ian Johnston, Malaspina University College.

General Writing Concerns: Planning/Writing/Revising/Genres
Maintained by OWL at Purdue University and Purdue University.

Research Papers
Maintained by The University of Kansas Writing Center.

Writing Center
Designed & maintained by University of Richmond students & faculty.

Writing in Your Courses
Maintained by The University of Kansas Writing Center.

Writing Research Papers
Maintained by OWL at Purdue University and Purdue University.

Writing Free Essay Thesis Statements
Maintained by WRITNG FREE THESIS STATEMENTS.