HKUL > Research Guides > Recommended Readings > Business Writing   
  Business Writing

Recommended Readings
  Books
Find More Library Materials
Web Resources
   
 

Recommended Readings

Books

Alred, Gerald J et al. The business writer's companion. 5th ed. Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2008.
691.74 A459 b97

Alred, Gerald J., Brusaw, Charles T. and Oliu, Walter E. The business writer's handbook. 9th ed. Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2009.
808.06665 A45 b

Andrus, Carol. Fat-free writing : business writing for the information age. Menlo Park, Calif. : Crisp Learning, c2000.
808.06665 A54

Bailey, Edward P. Writing & speaking at work : a practical guide for business communication. 4th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
658.45 B154 w95

Barnard, Roger and Cady, Jeff. Business venture : student book. New ed. Oxford : Oxford University Press, c2000.
E 428.2402465 B9 (v.1 & v.2)
E 428.2402465 B9 (teacher guide 1 & 2)
E 428.2402465 B9 (workbook 1 & 2)

Barrass, Robert. Writing at work : a guide to better writing in administration, business and management. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002.
808.06665 B26
Internet Access

Bennie, Michael. A guide to good business communications: how to write and speak English well in every business situation. Oxford, U.K.: How To Books, c2009.
Internet Access

Bird, Drayton. How to write sales letters that sell : learn the secrets of successful direct mail. 2nd ed. London : Kogan Page, 2002.
808.066659 B61

Blackwell, Edward. How to prepare a business plan. 5th ed. London : Philadelphia ; Kogan Page, 2008.
658.4012 B632

Blicq, Ron and Moretto, Lisa A. Writing reports to get results : quick, effective results using the pyramid method. 3rd ed. [Piscataway, N.J.] : IEEE Press ; New York : Wiley-Interscience, c2001.
808.066651 B64

Bly, Robert W. The Encyclopedia of business letters, faxes, and e-mail: features hundreds of model letters, faxes, and e-mail to give your business writing the attention it deserves. Franklin Lakes, NJ: Career Press, c2009.
PD 651.74 B66

Bonny, Clive. 商務寫作 = Business writing. 香港 : 三聯書店鋪(香港)有限公司, c2002.
[BC] HF5718.3 .B6612 2002

Bowden, John. Writing a report : how to prepare, write and present really effective reports. 8th ed. Oxford: How To Books, 2008.
Internet Access

Chambers, K. Dennis. The entrepreneur's guide to writing business plans and proposals. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2008.
658.4012 C444 e61

Cleland, Jane K. Business writing for results : how to create a sense of urgency and increase response to all of your business communications. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
651.74 C624 b
Internet Access

Cunningham, Helen and Greene, Brenda. The business style handbook : an A-to-Z guide for writing on the job with tips from communications experts at the Fortune 500. Chicago ; New York : McGraw-Hill, c2002.
R 808.06665 C973 b

DeTienne, Kristen Bell. Guide to electronic communication : using technology for effective business writing and speaking. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
658.45 D481 g

Egan, Michael. Writing@work : total quality writing for effective communications. Leawood, KS. : Cypress Pub., c2002.
808.042 E28

Ellis, Carol Ann and Reed, Cheryl. New directions for writers. New York : Longman, c2003.
808.042 E47 n (v.1 & v.2)

Ellison, Pat Taylor et al. Business English for the 21st century. 4th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2007.
808.066651 E47 b

FitzGerald, Suzanne Sparks. Schaum's quick guide to great business writing : how to write letters, papers, memos, and job applications. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1999.
808.06665 F554 s
Internet Access

Forsyth, Patrick. Powerful reports and proposals. London : Kogan Page, 2003.
658.453 F73

Foster, John. Effective writing skills for public relations. 4th ed. London ; Philadelphia : Kogan Page, 2008.
808.066659 F754 e27
Internet Access

Gambles, Ian. Making the business case : proposals that succeed for projects that work. Farnham, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, c2009.
Internet Access

Geffner, Andrea B. How to write better business letters. 4th ed. Hauppauge, N.Y. : Barron's, c2007.
808.066651 G299 h

Graham, Daniel and Graham, Judith. Can do writing: the proven ten-step system for fast and effective business writing. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2009.
PD 651.7 G73

Guffey, Mary Ellen. Essentials of business communication. 7th ed. Mason, Ohio : South-Western Pub, c2010.
808.06665 G94 e

Johnson-Sheehan, Richard. Writing proposals. 2nd ed. New York : Pearson/Longman, c2008.
658.15224 J661 w95

Kennedy, George E and Montgomery, Tracy T. Technical and professional writing : solving problems at work. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.0666 K35 t

Knoy, Ted. 有效撰寫英文工作提案 = Writing effective work proposals. 台北市 : 揚智文化事業股份有限公司, c2002.
[中] HF5718.5 .K56 2002

Koneru, Aruna. Professional communication. New Delhi: Tata McGraw-Hill, c2008.
651.7 K82

Krizan, A.C. Business communication. 7th ed. Mason, Ohio : Thomson/South-Western, c2008.
LB 808.06665 B98

Kuiper, Shirley. Contemporary business report writing. 4th ed. Mason, Ohio : South-Western ; London : Cengage Learning, c2009.
808.06665 K95

Lanham, Richard A. Revising business prose. 4th ed. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2000.
808.066651 L28

Lehman, Carol M. and DuFrene, Debbie, D. Business communication. 15th ed. Mason, OH : Thomson/South-Western, c2008.
658.45 L52

Lesikar, Raymond V. Business communication : making connections in a digital world. 11th ed. Boston : McGraw-Hill/Irwin, c2008.
X 651.74 L629 b97

Levinson, Nan S. How to sharpen your business writing skills. 2nd ed. [New York] : American Management Association, c2000.
808.06665 L6

Lewis, Harold. Bids, tenders & proposals : winning business through best practice. 3rd ed. London ; Philadelphia : Kogan Page, 2009.
658.15224 L673 b58

Li, Kam-cheong. Effective business communication in English: a practical approach. 2nd ed. Singapore: Prentice Hall, 2009.
E 658.45 L69

Littlejohn, Andrew. Company to company : a communicative approach to business correspondence in English. 3rd ed. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2000.
D 651.75 L77 c (student's book)
D 651.75 L77 c (teacher's book)

May, Claire Arevalo and May, Gordon S. Effective writing : a handbook for accountants. 8th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2009.
808.066657 M46

McKay, Melanie and Rosa, Elizabeth. The accountant's guide to professional communication : writing and speaking the language of business. Fort Worth : Dryden Press, Harcourt College Publishers, c2000.
657.014 M478 a

Meyer, Harold E. The skill and art of business writing : an everyday guide and reference. Westport, Conn. : Quorum Books, c2002.
808.06665 M612 s
Internet Access

Munter, Mary. Guide to managerial communication : effective business writing and speaking. 8th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, c2009.
658.45 M971 g94

Netzley, Michael and Snow, Craig. Guide to report writing. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
808.06665 N476 g

Newsom, Doug. Public relations writing : form and style. 8th ed. Belmont, CA : Thomson Wadsworth, c2008.
659.2 N558 p97

Pearsall, Thomas E. et al. How to write for the world of work. 7th ed. Boston : Thomson/Wadsworth, c2005.
808.06665 C97

Peck, George. Seagate Crystal Reports 8 : the complete reference. Berkeley, Calif. : Osborne/McGraw-Hill, c2000.
651.7802855369 C95 P
SL 651.7802855369 C95 P (CD-ROM)

Rhodes, Carl. Writing organization : (re)presentation and control in narratives at work. Amsterdam ; Philadelphia : John Benjamins, c2001.
808.06665 R476 w
Internet Access

Roddick, Hawley. Business writing makeovers : shortcut solutions to improve your letters, e-mails, and faxes. Avon, Mass. : Adams Media Corp., c2003.
808.06665 R686 b

Seglin, Jeffrey L. The AMA handbook of business letters. 3rd ed. New York : AMACOM, c2002.
651.75 S45
SL 651.75 S45 (CD-ROM)
Internet Access

Skulstad, Aud Solbjorg. Established and emerging business genres. Kristiansand S., Norway : Hoyskoleforlaget AS--Norwegian Academic Press, 2002.
808.066651 S62

Sorenson, Ritch et al. Business and management communication : a guide book. 4th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2001.
658.45 S713 b

Sparks, Suzanne D. 商業書信寫作立即上手 = The manager's guide to business writing. 台北市 : 美商麥格羅希爾國際股份有限公司台灣分公司, 2002.
[中] HF5718.3 .S6812 2002

Tidwell, Mike. How to produce effective operations and maintenance manuals. Reston, Va. : American Society of Civil Engineers, c2000.
808.0666 T558 h

Wainwright, Gordon R. Tricky business letters : persuasive tactics on paper. London : Prentice Hall, c2000.
808.066651 W1

Wienbroer, Diana Roberts. et al. Rules of thumb for business writers. 2nd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2005.
651.74 W647 r

Wilcox, Dennis L. Public relations writing and media techniques. 6th ed. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2009.
808.06659 W667 p97

Windschuttle, Keith and Elliott, Elizabeth. Writing, researching, communicating : communication skills for the information age. 3rd ed. Sydney : McGraw-Hill, 1999.
658.45 W7

Worth, Richard. Webster's New World business writing handbook. Indianapolis, IN : Wiley Pub., c2002.
808.06665 W93

Yeh, Helen W. M. English for business communications. Hong Kong : World Publishing Co., 2000.
E 428.2402465 Y43 (level 1 & level 2)

Young, Dona J. Business English: writing for the global workplace. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, c2008.
LB 808.06665 Y69

Zappala, Joseph M. Public relations writing worktext : a practical guide for the profession. 3rd ed. New York : Routledge, 2010.
659.2 Z35 p97

李錦昌. 商業傳意與應用文大全. 第1版. 香港 : 商務印書館(香港)有限公司, 2008.
[中] HF5718.3 .L535 2008
[山A] HF5718.3 .L535 2008 CDROM

鄒勇. 國際商務英語 : 理論與實務. 第1版. 上海市 : 上海財經大學出版社, 2008.
Internet Access

盧丹懷等. 中港應用文傳意大全. 香港 : 商務印書館(香港)有限公司, 2002.
[中] PL1275 .L75 2002
HK 808.066651 L79

Business English kit for HK executives : common errors, business writing and social English. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Economic Times, 2002.
428.2402465 B97
SL 428.2402465 B97 (CD)
HK 428.2402465 B97
HKC 428.2402465 B97 (CD)

Business letters for busy people : time saving, ready-to-use letters for any occasion. 4th ed. Franklin Lakes, NJ : Career Press, c2002.
651.75 B97 C27
SL 651.75 B97 C27 (CD-ROM)
Internet Access

Communication 2000, 2E : business and technical writing. Mason, OH : South-Western, c2002.
808.0666 A26
SL 808.0666 A26 (CD-ROM)

Harvard business review on effective communication. Boston, MA : Harvard Business School Press, c1999.
658.45 H33
Internet Access

Style guide. 9th ed. London : The Economist in association with Profile, c2005.
808.027 E19
R K100 E19

The Wall Street journal guide to business style and usage. New York : Simon & Schuster, c2002.
R 808.06665 W18

英文商業寫作參考手冊 : 美國管理協會的最佳商業寫作指南. 台北市 : 美商麥格羅•希爾國際股份有限公司台灣分公司, 2001.
[中] HF5726 .A4912 2001

英漢對照商務信函實例集成. 濟南市 : 山東科學技術出版社, 2002.
[中] HF5726 .Y56 2002

現代應用寫作. 杭州 : 浙江大學出版社, 2002.
[中] PL1275 .X535 2002

新編大學實用寫作. 北京市 : 北京大學出版社, 2002.
[中] PL1271 .X557 2002

應用寫作學習參考書. 北京市 : 北京市大學出版社, 2002.
[中] HF5718.3 .Y55 2002

Find More Library Materials

Business report writing

Business writing

Business writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Commercial correspondence

Commercial correspondence -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

English language -- Business English

English language -- Business English -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Proposal writing in business

Business communication

Letter writing


Web Resources

The Basic Business Letter
Maintained by Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

Brief Guide to Business Writing
Written by Kenneth G. Brown & David J. Barton, Department of Management and Organizations, University of Lowa.

Business and Marketing Plans Web Sites
Maintained by York University Libraries.

Business Communications
Maintained by Writers Write, Inc.

Business Plan for a Start-up Business
Maintained by Score.org.

Business Plan Templates and Free Sample Business Plans
Maintained by Bplans.com.

Business Plans and Financing
Maintained by MIT Enterprise Forum.

Business Report Writing : Business Statistics
Source: Applied Statistics for Business and Economics, Allen. Webster, pp. 957-961.

Business Writing : Help Them Organize Their Writing
Maintained by Lynn Gaertner-Johnston of Syntax Training.

Developing an Effective Employee Handbook
Maintained by Shawn A. Smith.

Guide to Basic Business Letters
Prepared by Kenneth Beare.

How to Improve Business Writing Skills
Written by Warren A. Smith and Brian H. Kleiner.

How to Write a Marketing Plan, Sample Marketing Plans
Maintained by Knowthis.com.

Memos
Written by Dan Murphy, The Writing Center at Rensselaer.

Online Technical Writing
Information provided and maintained by David A. McMurrey.

Revision in Business Writing
Maintained by Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

Strategic Planning
Written by Carter McNamara.

Tips for Writing an Employee Policy Manual
Written by June Campbell.

Write A Business Plan
Maintained by United States Small Business Administration.

Writing Revisable Manuals : A Guidebook for Business and Government
Maintained by Duncan Kent & Associates Ltd.